Posted by: bourbonmama | 20/08/2008

Blog Virgin

This is my first post, so bear with me. I am a 27 year old stay-at-home-mom. I am not your typical stay-at-home-mom. I am not married(legally–we’ll get to that later), I am poor, and I am young (or so I’m told), and look even younger (again, this is what I’m told). In my community, there are not many mothers like me, so I’m hoping that I can find them here.

Ever since I can remember, I wanted to be a mother. People would ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would say just that, to which they would reply, “Yes, but what else?”
“Nothing else, just a mother.” And, so began my life-long fascination with kids. When I became an adult (I use this term loosely), it became apparent to me that I needed to choose a career in the meantime, I chose the closest thing to being a mother without actually needing to have my own kids–teaching. Half-way through my college education, I found out that I was pregnant. So now, I am taking time off from school to be the best mother I can be.
As for that whole married, not married thing. Philip and I have been together for a little over 6 years and living together for 5. If you ask him, we’ve been living together for 6, but I say that staying every night at my apartment and having a key does not constitute living together. Paying half the rent and having your name on the lease does, which he did not.

For a long time, he has been more than a boyfriend to me, but I never had another title for him, until I got pregnant, he then became my baby daddy, which always sounded a little too ghetto for me, but made people laugh at parties. A few months ago, someone called him my partner. Now, I know that when I say this, that people at first assume that I am gay. There is nothing wrong with being gay, god knows I am a huge fag-hag, but I just don’t swing that way. But, in all honesty, that is the best definition for him, and our relationship—partners. Partners in life, partners in crime, and most recently, partners in parenting.

So there you have it a very small introduction to me. I know I ramble a little, but eventually my point is made. I’m sure that is the way most of my posts will be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

