Posted by: bourbonmama | 01/10/2008

working girl

I started my new job today. Keeneland is freakin’ huge! And it is totally weird walking around it without any people walking around. We just set up dining rooms, got our uniforms(tuxedo shirts and bow-ties–Yea!), and got our hand scanned. You have to clock in with a hand scan! Weird. Leaving Nate was so hard. I dropped him off at my mom’s at 9:00 this morning and didn’t get him until 2:00. I thought and worried about him all day. When I set him in the floor, he just crawled towards me and lifted himself up on my lap. Hardest thing I’ve ever had to do was walk out that door without him. I came back to find out that he would not take a bottle from her or my dad. This is some thing new, the past month or so, he refuses to take a bottle from anyone but me. It wasn’t a huge deal today, I was able to feed him when we got home, but what happens on Friday when I have to leave him there all day?

I keep telling myself that it’s only for a month, and on weekends it will be Philip caring for him, but I don’t know if I can do this. A whole month of not being there with him all day every day. I was so excited about being a part of the work force again, but now, I just want to stay at home, listen to Nate’s babbling, be covered in baby food, listening to Nate whine about his tooth, wondering if I’d remembered to brush my teeth that morning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

