Posted by: bourbonmama | 04/10/2008

9-5

Actually it was more like 10-6. My first day back on the job was not as bad as I’d expected it to be. I expected to be slammed and walk away with a ton of money. I wasn’t and I didn’t. And of course, Philip went out of town this weekend, so I’m also playing single mama for the first 2 days of my new job.

Dropping off Nate was a little easier on me this morning. His day was easier on him, too. He actually took a bottle from my mom and my dad. Aside from the bump on his head from this lion statue that my mom has in her living room (don’t ask), he no worse for the wear. I missed him, though. My heart ached for him, by 2:00, all I wanted was to hold him and kiss him. Does this get any easier?

So, I get home, and Philip, my sweet Philip, was thoughtful enough to stock my freezer with a fresh bottle of the good stuff. Sometimes, he knows just what to do. Then, he calls about 15 minutes after I get home, from VA, to tell me he got into a wreck. Every one’s OK, thank god, but the car is not. Philip’s father’s Prius, the one he uses for his business. It’s totalled. There was a tow truck on its way from KY to pick up the car, and Philip’s parents were on their way with his mother’s car, so he can still go on his trip. I take back everything I’ve ever said about his family. I don’t know what we’d do without them. After I hang up the phone, Nate and I cuddled, and he clapped my hands together with a goofy grin on his face, and all I could think was that we almost lost Philip tonight. I can’t imagine my life without him in it. Without his corny jokes, and snarkey comments, without his trash 2 ft away from the trash can and dirt tracked in through the back door. I need him close to me, I miss him, and it’s been like 14 hrs. I can’t wait for tomorrow night.

Ohh, yeah, and sorry, I was bluffing, Dana and Robyn, I don’t have embarrassing stories about one of you and I’m not mean enough to tell the ones I do know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

