Posted by: bourbonmama | 06/02/2009

Here’s a sentence I never thought I’d say: My son’s first birthday was the most stressful thing I’ve ever been through. I cleaned for a month straight, baked for three days, and then had SEVENTEEN family members in my house. At one point, I looked at my little brother (shut up, I don’t care if he’s almost 23 and six ft. tall, he’s still my little brother), and he just laughed. I said, “You just wait till you have kids and have to do this, till you have to start actin‘ like a grown up.”

My grandparents were in my house, y’all. I mean, does it get anymore grown-up?

Presents were opened.

And enjoyed.

Cake was eaten (homemade carrot cake cupcakes with homemade cream cheese icing, to be exact), and thoroughly enjoyed!

Baby steps were taken, followed by ohh’s and aww’s.

And a wonderful time was had by all (that’s my dad-granddad)!

Leave a Reply

Categories

