Posted by: bourbonmama | 02/04/2009

Back To The Grindstone

Yesterday was my first day back to work. We went in, put linens on tables that had been bare since October, polished silverware, and filled sugar caddies. Then we had a big meeting in which the president of the race track and one of the owners of the catering company that serves said track both told us that we were going to have to lower our expectations of what we will make this meet, but, the customers’ expectations must be met. Great. I know that I shouldn’t complain, we are incredibly blessed. I am able to be a stay at home mother, we have a roof over our heads, food on the table, and clothes on our backs, which is more than a lot of people have right now. I know, boo hoo, poor me, I have to work two months out of the year. I just want to feel like it’s worth it for me to be away from Nate for 9-10 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Yesterday, I dropped him off with Philip’s mom. He cried. He’s never done that before. I know it’s normal for separation anxiety to show up at this age, I know he’ll grow out of it. I know what can help and what can hurt the transition. I can’t count the number of child psychology and behavioral classes I’ve taken. I’ve worked in preschools and daycares, so I’ve seen it over and over. But only from that point of view. I was not prepared for how much it would hurt. How my heart would ache all afternoon. I can’t wait till May.

Responses

  1. I can only imagine how hard that must be for you.

    Thank goodness you don’t have to take him to a “day care.”

    The two months will fly by and you’ll be back to him before you know it.

  2. Awww… I can’t imagine! Does he get all excited when you pick him up? I can’t wait for that…
    I hope the time goes fast.


Leave a Reply

Categories

