Posted by: bourbonmama | 11/06/2009

Best. Present. Ever.

Ever since high school, I’ve been obsessed with 70’s decor. Anything that was tacky enough to be cool, I fantasized over. Once I moved out, I filled my house with little nick knacks, in varied shades of orange, brown, and teal. I started collecting mushrooms. Because having a mushroom collection lets people know how cool you are with out saying a word. Philip HATES my mushrooms. I currently have one Merry Mushroom canister and one salt/pepper shaker, as well as a towel to match.  Philip “accidentally” broke the other salt/pepper shaker.  It is our “Leg Lamp Incident.”  Every trip to Goodwill or a yard sale would include searching for a replacement.  One time, we saw an entire set of 8.  Goodwill wanted $40.  Philip said there was no way he was paying $40 for anything at Goodwill, let alone something as ugly as that.  I left, promising to return the next day.  They were already gone.  I was heartbroken.  Until now.  Philip saw these at a yard sale, paid $5 for them.  That’s $1 a piece. 

Ahh, tacky goodness

Ahh, tacky goodness

This is probably the sweetest thing he’s ever done for me.  I told him they were awesome, more awesome than my other mushroom paraphernalia because they were so different, so original.  And, I was right, I can’t find any others like them (I’ve been looking all day online).  I love being the only one with something.  It makes me feel even cooler.   Because the size and rarity of your mushroom collection is directly proportionate to your level of coolness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

