Posted by: bourbonmama | 19/06/2009

I saw this the yesterday, and I can’t get it out of my head.  It pisses me off to no end.  Not the fact that they want him fired for telling a stupid joke that his staff wrote, but the judgement. 

“He has a bastard son and a slut for a wife.” (1:20)  That comment played over and over in my head all day yesterday.  I’m going to completely ignore the fact that Sarah Palin has a bastard grandson, which in turn makes her daughter a slut (their logic, not mine).  It bothers me so much because Ihave a bastard child.  I get dirty looks from old ladies at the grocery store, for no other reason than having a naked finger.  My child is considered by certain groups of people to be damaged goods.  All because Philip and I don’t have a piece of paper proving that we’re committed to each other.  

We thought about that when I was pregnant.  Living in KY, there is still a very big stigma attached to unwed mothers and their children.  But, I don’t live my life by or base my decisions on other people’s standards.  Both sets of grandparents pushed for a quick wedding.  Telling us that we needed to make a commitment to the child, and show him/her that we were also committed to each other.  We were told that s/he needed to see that we would be together for him/her.  I didn’t understand any of this logic, that seems like a lot of responsibility to put on that child’s shoulders.  If/when I get married, it’s going to be because I want to have a big party and wear a pretty white dress and have everybody look at me.  Not because I’m having a baby.  That’s a terrible reason to get married.  I’m going to stop here, before I sink to the protesters’ level and start spewing hate.

Leave a Reply

Categories

