Posted by: bourbonmama | 08/07/2009

Recent Conversation with My Sister

she was telling me about some health issue that I can’t remember now.  She tells me that the doctor wants her to have an MRI.

“Yeah, because those are cheap,” I quip.

“Well, my insurance will cover most of it.”

Oh, well, maybe you should have it done.”

“Yeah, I should.  Before Obama’s health care plan goes through and I don’t get it anymore.  Then I’ll be waiting 6 months just to see a doctor.”

“Yeah, because then people like me and Philip can actually go to the doctor when we’re sick, and we don’t have to lie about our income to get your nephew covered.”

There was a long silence before we changed the subject.  It amazes me that she can’t even see it.  She doesn’t even try to understand what it might be like from someone else’s point of view.  Not just someone else, but her own sister, her only sister.  All she thinks about is the inconvenience it may cause in her own life, not once thinking about the luxuries it may afford her family.

Responses

  1. What a bunch of crap. Sorry, babe. “Before Obama’s health care plan goes through…”

    You’re dead on. Never mind that the public option doesn’t mess with people who like they already have. The people that are so pissed that everyday people get a piece of the health care they already take for grant tell lies and falsehoods about countries on our par that have national health plans and — gasp! — they haven’t imploded yet. Horror stories about waiting six months for an x-ray come from the same bin as the urban legends, “Oh crap! My roommate died! I get a 4.0 for the semester!”

    Pffffbt.

  2. I completely understand. I am surrounded by people who just don’t seem to see that I am one of the ones struggling. That it’s not some made-up not quite real people across the country.

    I found out the other day that the average life span in Canada is longer than the average life span in the US and the infant mortality rate is lower in Canada. Bring it on baby!

    • It still amazes me that we are so behind other first-world industrialized nations in terms of taking care of our citezen. There’s no logic in it. I agree. Bring. It. On.


Leave a Reply

Categories

