Posted by: bourbonmama | 10/07/2009

On Being a Hillbilly

The Fam

The Fam

My friend Allen and I were talking about how the rest of the world views Kentucky natives.  He told a story of being overseas: “I met a girl from Australia and told her I was from the states.  She asked where, and I told her KY and asked if she’d heard of it.  She says, ‘Oh, just the normal dirt roads, no shoes, sleeping with your sister stuff.'”

Yeah.  Y’all know that I don’t sleep with family, right?  I drive a car, and went to college, and live in a house with a toilet.  Let’s just get that straight.  I know it’s hard to believe, since anytime you see a KY native on TV they look and sound like this

So, then the other night, I was watching America’s Got Talent, and I saw this guy.  He’s from Maysville, KY.  I was worried, just like every other time I see a Kentuckian on TV.  *Please don’t suck, please don’t suck*

I really don’t like country, but he’s good, and he proved Piers wrong.  Thank you.  But then Philip reminded me that most of the country probably needed subtitles.  Did y’all understand that?  So, what are your impressions of us?  What comes to your mind when you think of KY?

P.S.  And why does The Hoff want to know how many chickens he can catch?  Oh, right, because he’s freakin’ hammered!

P.P.S.  Of course he’s not too good at math!

Responses

  1. I went to school in KS and one of the first people I met asked me in all seriousness if I had needed to buy shoes to move. Then, about fifteen minutes later, asked me if I knew anyone in the KKK. Kentucky is much maligned and never appreciated. I mean, come on, the queen comes here once a year. Who else can say that?

  2. How does one become an Unemployed Farmer? I mean, I thought farmers OWNED the farm they worked on, so wouldn’t that make him homeless too? I have to ponder this for a moment.

    I bet being a homeless unemployed farmer helps him write some awesome (yet depressing) country songs. Crying about your dog and/or truck and/or hoe-bag ex is so 1993. You don’t know heartache until you lose the farm.

    • Actually, he never said he was a farmer, I guess “Unemployed Chicken Catcher” just doesn’t have the same ring to it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

