Posted by: bourbonmama | 16/07/2009

Noisy Neighbors

Home
Home

I recently discovered Mama Kat over at Mama’s Losing it and her writer’s workshop.  So, here’s my story of confronting a neighbor. 

Growing up, our house was in a neighborhood that was close to UK’s campus.  As the university grew, it began to encroach on our neighborhood.  Houses that used to be filled with families and old ladies, began housing young college students.  It became an entirely different environment in a few short years.  When I was 9, I auditioned for a special school (no, not that kind of special, this kind), our auditions were over the summer break between third and fourth grades, so the summer college party season was in full swing.  My friend Amber was spending the night, so we were sleeping in the living room.  Across the street, there was a party brewing.  I was already anxious and nervous about the audition the next morning, and now there was all this noise coming from across the street.  I was over it, already. 

I slipped on my jelly sandals, and padded crossed the street in my pj’s (which were really my older brother’s soccer shorts and a ratty t).  The door was wide open and people were everywhere.  There was load music blasting from the stereo over voices that seemed to blend into one.  I walked up the stairs to the porch where a couple of guys were sitting on the swing.  “Hey!  What are you doing here?”  One of them asked me. 

“You guys are being too loud.  I have to get up early in the morning!”  I explained to them.  They laughed. 

“Here, have a drink of this,” one of them offered, “it’ll help you sleep!”  He held out a red plastic cup.  I took it and looked into it.  It looked like water and burned my nose a little.

“Uh, no thanks.  But you could turn down the music for me.”

“Why don’t you go on in there and turn it down yourself?”  I looked at him for a minute, trying to figure out if he was just messing with me.  I had two brothers their age, I was no fool.  He started giggling.  I tuned on my heel and started to go home, but then decided, no, I needed peace and quiet.  SO, I turned again and marched right through that open door.  The noise was deafening.  There was a wall of people between me and the elusive volume control.  Good thing I was small.  I wove my way through the crowd to the stereo.  I reached out toward the dial and turned it to the left, all the way to the left.  Everyone stopped talking all at once and turned to me, faces full of confusion and disbelief.  (The only thing that would have made it better was if it had been a record player and I’d scratched the needle along vinyl.)  “No, no, not that far down!”  It was one of the guys from the porch.  I turned the dial to the right a little and music filled the room.  Slowly everyone turned their attention from me.  I walked out the door, and down the stairs.  I made it across the street and the music went up a few decibels. 

Responses

  1. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s… great story! You must’ve been a feisty kid. :)

    • Feisty is only the beginning!

  2. You’re sassy and I like it!

    I’m stoppin’ over from Mama Kat’s.

  3. That is awesome woman! Sassy indeed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

