Posted by: bourbonmama | 20/10/2009

My grandfather is in the ICU.  He has pneumonia.  They’ve called the family in.  My entire house is sick.  We can’t go see him.  Mom says he wouldn’t even know we were there, that it’d be just for us.  Just for me to say good-bye.  I’m not sure how to say good-bye.  My grandmother has been in and out of the hospital for over a year.  I was prepared for the call about her, not him. 

In ’95, he got a flesh-eating bacteria.  Almost lost his leg.  The doctors told him he’d never walk on his own.  Six months later, he played 18 holes of golf with my uncle and brother.  No cart for him, because carts are for pussies.  He is no pussy.  He survived a bout with lung cancer a couple of years ago.  Then, a year later got hit by a truck.  In his 80’s.  He’s a tank.  He strong and stubborn and will not take anything lying down.

*******************

That was Friday.  We are having his memorial service this morning.  He died on Saturday.  My aunt had made it in from San Antonio in time.  We stood around his bed and prayed and shared our memories, and cried.  He looked so peaceful.  And, then he was gone.

Responses

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry. I’ll be thinking of you.

  2. oh, i’m so sorry. so so sorry. i’m thinking of you today.

  3. Oh honey, I’m so sorry!

  4. I’m so very sorry for your loss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

